WELCOME to The Society of Experimental Psychologists

The Society of Experimentalists was founded by Edward Bradford Titchener in 1904. Titchener's design for his "Experimentalists" was that it be an ongoing workshop, with "members visiting labs, studying apparatus, and hearing and commenting on reports of ongoing research."

In 1927 the club was reorganized into The Society of Experimental Psychologists. The Society holds meetings every spring, scheduled by a member at the host university who serves as the chair of the Society for that year.

The meetings are plenary and involve papers from various members of the society. The society currently admits at least 6 new members annually from among the leading experimentalists in North America. It has a current membership of 220 individuals, about 5 - 10% of the practicing experimental psychologists.

Information about future meetings:

2020 Meeting, University of Chicago, Chicago, IL (host, Edward Awh), CANCELLED

2021 Meeting, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA (host, Michael Kahana)

Information about Society Awards:

The Recent Awardees and Citations:

The Warren Medal:

The Norman Anderson Lifetime Achievement Award:

Information about The Society:

About SEP:

Current Fellows:

News and Upcoming Events:

History and Archives:

Members Login:

Contact Info:

Visit the SEP Meeting & Photo Archive.

[ Home ]     [ About Us ]     [ History ]     [ News/Events ]     [ Awards ]     [ Fellows ]     [ Archives ]     [ Members ]     [ Contacts ]


Society of Experimental Psychologists

Executive Committee: Barbara Knowlton, Mary Peterson, Michael Kahana, Ed Awh, Lynn Nadel
Secretary/Treasurer: Lynn Nadel