The Society of Experimental Psychologists

About SEP

The Society of Experimentalists was founded by Edward Bradford Titchener in 1904. Titchener’s design for his “Experimentalists” was that it be an ongoing workshop, with “members visiting labs, studying apparatus, and hearing and commenting on reports of ongoing research.”


The Society has continued to meet annually in the years since, typically in the spring, except for the war year 1918, and the COVID pandemic years 2020 -2021. Upon Titchener’s death in 1927 the club was reorganized into The Society of Experimental Psychologists. Meetings are scheduled and organized by a member, who serves on the Executive Committee of the Society for that year. The meetings are open to all members of the Society, and to students and faculty from the host university as invited by the organizer.

The meetings are plenary and involve papers from various members of the society. The society currently admits at least 6 new members annually from among the leading experimentalists in North America. It has a current membership of 281 individuals, about 5 – 10% of the practicing experimental psychologists. The mission of the society is “To advance psychology by arranging informal conferences on experimental psychology.”


The society confers three awards:

  • The Warren Medal for the most significant advances in Experimental Psychology over the prior five years.
  • The Norman Anderson Lifetime Achievement Award given to senior individuals with outstanding records of contribution to experimental psychology.
  • The Early Investigator Award given to mid-career individuals who have already made significant contributions to experimental psychology.



Recent Awards and Citations

2021 Howard Crosby Warren Medal

Martha J. Farah
University of Pennsylvania

2021 Norman Anderson Lifetime Achievement Award

Randall W. Engle
Georgia Institute of Technology

2022 Howard Crosby Warren Medal

Keith Holyoak
University of California, Los Angeles


2022 Norman Anderson Lifetime Achievement Award

Marcia Johnson
University of California, Berkeley